Leahy Burnout Indy

Leahy notches second win of 2020 with Indy triumph

Keegan Leahy earned his seventh career eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series victory in Tuesday night’s race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Leahy took the lead away from former Indianapolis winner Ray Alfalla with seven laps remaining in the 80-lap event after Alfalla suffered a little bit of damage on the No. 2 machine which hurt the performance in the closing laps.

Chris Shearburn also moved his way around Alfalla, finishing second after a valiant effort to mount a final charge on Leahy on the white-flag lap.

Alfalla hung on to finish third, followed by Garrett Lowe, Michael Conti, Ryan Luza, Graham Bowlin, Casey Kirwan, Bobby Zalenski and Nick Ottinger to round out the top 10.

Leahy got his first taste of the lead on Lap 15 when he moved his way around polesitter Michael Conti. A caution for a multi-car crash on Lap 18 brought the leaders down pit road for the first round of stops under yellow on Lap 20, where Leahy lost a few spots but was able to quickly get back toward the front of the field.

Leahy continues to lead the Coca-Cola iRacing Series points standings over Ryan Luza following his second victory of the 2020 season.

The Coca-Cola iRacing Series moves on to New Hampshire Motor Speedway on July 14 as just six races remain in the regular season before the playoffs begin at the Charlotte Motor Speedway Roval on Oct. 8.