Enascar Heat Pro League Recap Talladega 2020

Rothgeb claims first win, Brooks shines again at Talladega

The eNASCAR Heat Pro League’s first superspeedway stop of 2020 did not disappoint, with a first-time winner emerging in the PlayStation 4 division and a final lap battle highlighting a wild Xbox One race.

The PlayStation 4 drivers kicked off the night with a clean race ran caution-less from green to checkered. A majority of the drivers elected to stay single file for the opening 39 of 40 scheduled laps – only seeing the field mixed up through two rounds of green-flag pit stops. Through it all, Penske eSports drivers Corey Rothgeb emerged with the lead and was not to be denied despite a strong fight from PETTY eSports’ Mike Braas out of Turn 4.

It was the first victory of Rothgeb’s career after going winless in Season 1. Braas, who was also searching for career win No. 1, settled for second ahead of Josh Harbin (Leavine Family Gaming), Joey Stone (RCR eSports) and TJ McGowan (JTG Daugherty Throttlers).

Kyle Arnold, who entered with the PlayStation 4 points lead, led early and looked to be the car to beat before a pit road penalty relegated him to last and wiped away the championship lead. Rothgeb now leads the standings on 55 points, with Arnold and Harbin tied for second on points (-5).

The Xbox One race was hotly-contested from the drop of the green. Three-wide racing led to a flurry of wrecks, eliminating several drivers from contention and paving the way for Justin Brooks (JTG Daugherty Throttlers) to claim the lead and ultimately the victory over Jordan McGraw.

Despite Brooks’ claiming win No. 3 on the season, it was McGraw’s performance that turned heads as it was his first race back with RCR eSports after being dropped in the offseason. McGraw was tapped to replace Mitch Diamond this past week.

Chaos unfolded behind the two frontrunners coming to the checkered, mixing up the running order and allowing Luis Zaiter (Ganassi Gaming) to climb to a third-place result. PETTY eSports’ Diego Alvarado came home in fourth with GoFas Gaming’s Riley Ogle rounding out the top five.

Daniel Buttafuoco just missed a top-five result but a sixth extends his points lead to +8 over Zaiter.

The eNASCAR Heat Pro League will enjoy an off week before returning at Iowa Speedway on Thursday, June 18th, at 8:00 PM ET.