Mullis Indy Enascar 2020 Preview

Coca-Cola Series Preview: Battle at The Brickyard

After a month off from points racing, the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series resumes its 2020 tour at Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the ninth race of the season – the official kickoff of the second half of the regular season.

Race info

Race 9 of 20
Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Indianapolis, Ind.
2.5-mile oval
80 laps

Previous winners at Indianapolis

The Brickyard’s one of the few tracks that’s been on the Coca-Cola iRacing Series schedule every year since its inception. And, with the exception of 2013 winner Jon Adams, all former Indy winners are still active in the series.

2019: Corey Vincent
2018: Logan Clampitt
2017: Zack Novak
2016: Dylan Duval
2015: Nick Ottinger
2014: Ray Alfalla
2013: Jon Adams
2012: Ray Alfalla
2011: Brad Davies
2010: Brad Davies

Last time at Indianapolis: Vincent, on fumes

In his first series victory since 2016, Corey Vincent took the checkered flag in a dramatic last-lap pass last year at Indianapolis when Blake Reynolds ran out of fuel with the finish line in sight.

Last race: Alfalla returns to Victory Lane

Four-time series champ Ray Alfalla finally snapped a 25-race winless streak in the Coca-Cola iRacing Series’ last points-paying race at Atlanta last month. It was a dominating victory that inched him closer to a spot in the playoffs – just two points out of eighth.

Points picture after eight races

The first half of the regular season is in the books, meaning it’s fair game to start thinking about the playoffs.

1) Keegan Leahy, 264 points
2) Ryan Luza, -10
3) Garrett Lowe, -12
4) Bobby Zalenski, -24
5) Michael Conti, -37
6) Nick Ottinger, -50
7) Brad Davies, -54
8) Jake Nichols, -55
9) Ray Alfalla, -57
10) Graham Bowlin, -72

The top-eight drivers in points after the regular-season finale on Oct. 1 at Talladega Superspeedway will make the playoffs. The series champion will win $100,000.

What to expect

Indianapolis is a big, fast, aero-dependent intermediate track – and we’ve seen four different winners in the four races on such tracks in 2020. Still, the Brickyard is its own beast.

In half the past races at IMS, the driver who has led the most laps has also won the race. That sure wasn’t the case last year when Corey Vincent led just the last few hundred feet of the race.

Keegan Leahy led the most laps last year, and we expect him to show speed again this year – or at least pick up his fourth pole position of 2020.

Expect some noise out of two-time Indy winner Ray Alfalla, who’s rolling on some momentum after his Atlanta win – not to mention the fact that he’s right in the thick of the playoffs conversation.

What we don’t expect is for somebody to try to incorporate the classic kissing-of-the-bricks celebration at home. Let’s hope it doesn’t come to that.

How to watch

Round 9 of the season airs live Tuesday, June 30 at 9 p.m. ET.

Catch the racing action streamed live: