Enascar Coke 300 Preview Coke Series Enascar 2020

Previewing Tuesday night’s Coca-Cola 300 at Charlotte

The stars of the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series have the season’s longest challenge ahead of them Tuesday night. Round 7 of the 2020 season means a 300-miler at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Race info

Race 7 of 20
Charlotte Motor Speedway
Concord, North Carolina
1.5-mile oval
200 laps

Previous winners at Charlotte

Charlotte Motor Speedway holds one of the most unlikely stats you’ll find in the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series: There has been a different winner in each of the series’ 11 races at the track; if you include the Roval configuration that debuted last year with a Bobby Zalenski win, that number increases to 12. Four active drivers – Keegan Leahy, Ray Alfalla, Nick Ottinger and Brad Davies – are past Charlotte oval winners.

2019: Keegan Leahy
2018: Nick Shelton
2017: Ray Alfalla
2016: Kenny Humpe
2015: Alex Warren
2014: Danny Hansen
2013: Joey Brown
2012: Nick Ottinger
2011: Thomas Hazard
2010-2: Brad Davies
2010-1: Richard Towler

Last year: Leahy outlasts the rest

A caution-filled first half of the 2019 race at Charlotte Motor Speedway broke way for a long run to end the longest night of the season, playing into Keegan Leahy’s favor as he picked up his first victory of the season. The surprise of the night was Chris Shearburn, who qualified on pole and led more than half of the 200-mile race, the first on iRacing’s re-scanned Charlotte oval.

Last race: Ottinger beats the ‘Monster Mile'

Two weeks ago, Nick Ottinger put an end to Ryan Luza’s victory streak, winning at Dover International Speedway. It was Ottinger’s first win of the season after coming up just inches short of winning the season opener at Daytona International Speedway behind (well, alongside) Keegan Leahy.

Brad Davies and Dylan Duval both claimed their best finishes in any race since 2016, finishing second and third, respectively.

Points picture after six races

For the first time all season, three-race winner Ryan Luza leads the way atop the standings. Bobby Zalenski’s unfortunate day at Dover International Speedway that resulted in a 32nd-place finish ended his impressive streak of finishing in the top 10 in every race in 2020.

1) Ryan Luza, 208 points
2) Bobby Zalenski, -13
3) Keegan Leahy, -18
4) Nick Ottinger, -21
5) Garrett Lowe, -34
6) Michael Conti, -38
7) Brad Davies, -43
8) Graham A. Bowlin, -55
9) John Gorlinsky, -57
10) Jake Nichols, -59

The top-eight drivers in points after the regular-season finale on Oct. 1 at Talladega Superspeedway will make the playoffs. The series champion will win $100,000.

What to expect

Much like the NASCAR Cup Series’ Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway, the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series event is the longest and most grueling tests of the season at 200 laps. In our Power Rankings, we’ve got our eye on some familiar contenders, notably last year’s winner, Keegan Leahy, along with Ryan Luza, the man who might have made history with four wins in a row until tagging the wall at Dover International Speedway.

The variety of winners makes Charlotte a little unpredictable – though, there’s room for Luza on the list of victors if the 11-winners-for-11-races stat increases to 12.

While Tuesday’s race will mark only the second event on iRacing’s refreshed version of Charlotte, the track still tends to slow often for cautions, with an average of eight yellows per race. It’ll mean speed alone won’t win the race; the winner will have to survive the unexpected challenges of 300 miles (plus, of course, the possibility of overtime).

How to watch

Round 7 of the season airs live Tuesday at 9 p.m. ET.

Catch the racing action streamed live: