Novak prevails in first Overtime finish in PEAK Series’ history

Roush Fenway Racing’s Zack Novak won his third eNASCAR PEAK Antifreeze iRacing Series race of 2019, surviving late-race cautions and the series’ first overtime finish on his way to victory lane. Novak started fourth and hung around the front most of the evening before capitalizing late in the going.

A late-race crash set up a green-white-checker shootout with Novak leading over Blake Reynolds. When the green flew, Novak jumped ahead and Jimmy Mullis moved to second, but he was unable to keep pace with the leader as Novak edged ahead to win by just over two-tenths of a second. Taylor Hurst followed in third, while Christian Challiner slipped to fourth. Reynolds rounded out the top five, the outside lane not being kind to him on the final restart.

“We struggled a bit in the first run, but we got it fixed up after pit stops,” said Novak. “On the heat cycle the car was just stellar in traffic and me, Jimmy, and Taylor just ran away with it.”

Zack Novak crosses the finish line for his third win of the 2019 season.
Zack Novak crosses the finish line for his third win of the 2019 season.

The win over Richmond Raceway Esports’ Mullis propelled Novak back into the top five in points, and with only three races left in the regular season, has him sitting pretty to make the Playoffs.

Keegan Leahy still leads the standings even with a disappointing 20th at Kentucky. Ryan Luza is second, six points behind, but he too struggled with a 24th-place effort. Reynolds closed to within 20 points of the lead in third, while Garrett Lowe holds fourth after his 12th-place result.

With only three races remaining until the field of championship hopefuls is cut to eight, the series moves on to Pocono Raceway for Week 12. Leahy won there in 2018 and will look to right the ship after a disappointing race at Kentucky, as will Luza and Lowe, as three of the top five in the standings failed to crack the top 10.

Coverage from the virtual Tricky Triangle kicks off July 23rd at 9:00 pm ET on