Skip to content
Peak Series Leahy Wins Chicagoland

Leahy takes championship lead with Chicagoland win

Keegan Leahy earned his second trip to victory lane in the 2019 eNASCAR PEAK Antifreeze iRacing Series season after completing a dominating effort at Chicagoland Speedway. The win also saw the G2 eSports driver take the points lead from Flipsid3 Tactics’ Ryan Luza.

Corey Vincent brought his Renegades Ford home second, narrowly beating Joe Gibbs Racing’s Bobby Zalenski in a tight, side-by-side battle for the runner-up spot. Luza finished fourth, some 11 seconds behind, while JR Motorsports’ Michael Conti completed the top five positions.

Coming off of a dominant victory two weeks ago at Sonoma Raceway, Zalenski started on pole, but could not lead the first lap as Williams Esports’ Matt Bussa used momentum from the high groove to just beat Zalenski to the stripe. Bussa would go on to lead the first five laps before the first and only caution of the day flew. The multi-car wreck impacted a number of playoff contenders, including Burton Kligerman Esports’ Logan Clampitt.

Shortly after the restart, title contender Luza jumped to the lead and looked to break away, but Leahy worked his way through traffic and ultimately powered to the point.

Leahy continued to build his lead through several long-green flag runs, and following his final stop on Lap 96, continued to lay down blazing fast laps to lap up to 21st position by the checkers.

Leahy’s win moved him into the championship lead, a scant two points ahead of Luza. Blake Reynolds is third, 35 points back, after a ninth-place result at Chicagoland. Garrett Lowe is fourth, and Conti sits fifth, matching his finishing position in the race.

Kentucky Speedway is next up on the schedule, and while it shares the same distance as Chicagoland, the two tracks are quite different with Kentucky featuring a much bumpier surface and flatter corners. The last time the series visited Kentucky was 2016, and many of the current front runners had yet to make their first start. This should make for an unpredictable affair as drivers continue to jockey for the eight playoff positions.

Coverage begins Tuesday, July 9th at 9pm ET on