Skip to content
The first eNASCAR Heat Pro League race takes place Sunday, May 26 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Watch on

Heat Pro League 101: All you need to know for Sunday’s race

Everything you need to know about Sunday’s inaugural eNASCAR Heat Pro League race

We’ll answer the Five Ws — and maybe a little more — about the first-ever race in the eNASCAR Heat Pro League taking place Sunday at Charlotte Motor Speedway.


WHAT is the eNASCAR Heat Pro League?

The first-ever race in the eNASCAR Heat Pro League. Haven’t you heard? It’s the latest esports series that’s a collaboration between 704Games, the Race Team Alliance, and NASCAR.

NASCAR Heat 3 — yes, the same game anybody can pick up, will feature the racing action.

The inaugural season will feature 12 races from May through October, culminating in a season-ending finale at a still-unknown wildcard track.


HOW did the drivers get here?

At the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race at ISM Raceway in March, 14 NASCAR race teams drafted two drivers each — one for each console (Xbox One and PlayStation 4) — following a rigorous, months-long process where competitors showcased their ability to get it done both on and off the track.

Any driver with a copy of NASCAR Heat 3 and online access could compete over the NASCAR off-season. Ultimately, the field was whittled down to 50 finalists that led to the 28 selected in the draft.


WHO is competing?

Fourteen team-selected drivers from two consoles will compete in Sunday’s races.

Xbox One Drivers/Teams:

Greg Matarazzo / Chip Ganassi Gaming

Nicholas Vroman / Leavine Family Gaming

Tyler Dohar / JR Motorsports

Brian Tedeschi / Team Penske Esports

Nick Walker / Roush Fenway Gaming

Diego Alvarado / Petty Esports

Josh Shoemaker / Stewart-Haas Gaming

Sam Morris / Hendrick Motorsports Gaming Club

Daniel Buttafuoco / Gibbs Gaming

Justin Brooks / JTG Daugherty Throttlers

Matt Heale / GoFas Gaming

Jordan McGraw / RCR Esports

Jacob Kerr / Germain Gaming

Casey Gomme / Wood Brothers Gaming


PlayStation 4 Drivers/Teams:

Slade Gravitt / Wood Brothers Gaming

Kyle Arnold / Germain Gaming

Joey Stone / RCR Esports

Hunter Mullins / GoFas Gaming

Zach Onson / JTG Daugherty Throttlers

TJ McGowan / Gibbs Gaming

Nick Jobes / Hendrick Motorsports Gaming Club

Brandyn Gritton / Stewart-Haas Gaming

Mike Braas / Petty Esports

Cody Giles / Roush Fenway Gaming

Corey Rothgeb / Team Penske Esports

Jason Keffer / JR Motorsports

Josh Harbin / Leavine Family Gaming

Josh Parker / Chip Ganassi Gaming


Sponsors unique to teams’ esports efforts have even stepped up to get involved, including Spin Scooters hopping on board the Wood Brothers Gaming outfit.

Check out all the Heat Pro League paint schemes


WHERE and WHEN is it happening?

Racing takes place on NASCAR Heat 3’s virtual Charlotte Motor Speedway at the actual Charlotte Motor Speedway — specifically, Charlotte Motor Speedway’s Trackside Live stage. That’s right: the competitors will face off in real life for the inaugural race, just hours before the Coca-Cola 600.

The Xbox race begins Sunday, May 26 at 3:30 p.m. ET.

The PlayStation 4 race begins just after, at 4:00 p.m. ET.


HOW to watch the first-ever eNASCAR Heat Pro League Race


The races will stream live on, Facebook and Twitch. Pre-race coverage starts Sunday at 2:30 p.m. ET.

Race broadcasts are professionally produced, too, so it’ll be easy to keep up with the action.



HYPE for the Heat Pro League

What, who, where, when … and hype! Drivers and teams have been sharing the excitement around the start of the series.



All that’s left now — from the draft to preparations to exhibition races to the travel — are the races themselves. Which driver will go down in history as the first-ever Heat Pro League winner?